events and everyday and everything else…

24 Aug

Welcome to our blog and thank you for following us. What has been on my mind today has been the delcious plantain sandwich I create. It’s so delightful I must share. In an ever continuous effort to stay away from white breads and the cliche it brings for being the go-to item to start a sandwich, I turned to the banana’s cousin – the green plantain.

My foundation is round size, thick and sturdy tostones as my sandwich top and bottom. My meat of preference is sliced churrasco. I like to have tradition meet variation, so instead of chimichurri I top my sandwich off with ‘Hogao’. Hogao is basically sauteed scallions and plum tomatoes but something about how chopping them together engages their flavors then when you saute them in a bit of oil the flavors are married. No sandwich could be complete without cheese. I have used provolone quite often, but there are so many variations.

Remember the plantain is your foundation and the combinations are infinite.  Cooking is  my passion, so tune in as I take you thru a voyage of flavor profiling with my Colombian induced cuisine.

Leave a Reply

